Ou Dong (Khmer: Udong) is a small town in the northwest of Kandal province, Cambodia. It is nestled at foot of a hill chain, merely 40km from Phnompenh capital.
From 1618 until 1866, Oudong was home to a succession of kings, deposed from the former capital of Lovek by the invading Thais. In 1866, it was abandoned by King Norodom, taking his royal court along with him to the current capital, Phnom Penh. Oudong was extensively damaged by the Khmer Rouge in 1977.
King Ang Duong (1841-1850) has made canals, terraces and bridges and erected a hundred pagodas in and around Oudong region. Although little remains today, Oudong is still frequently visited by many Khmers who come to pay homage to their kings.